The Romantics

Music Director Candidate Finalist Fawzi Haimor leads a program of three works from the romantic era featuring the talents of Cleveland International Piano Competition Gold Medalist, Martina Filjak, in her New West Symphony debut. It also marks the Symphony’s first performance of American composer Edward MacDowell’s virtuosic, Liszt-inspired Piano Concerto No. 2. Closing the program is Johannes Brahm’s majestic First Symphony, which took Brahms 14 years to complete, and which, with its soaring final movement chorale, has often been called the Beethoven 10th.

Fawzi Haimor, guest conductor
Martina Filjak, piano

Weber | Overture to Der Freischütz
| Piano Concerto No. 2
Brahms | Symphony No. 1

Program notes >>

Saturday, November 17, 2018 | 7:30 pm
Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza

Sunday, November 18, 2018 | 3:00 pm
Oxnard Performing Arts Center



to the
2018/2019 Masterpiece Series!