New World Symphony featuring Lara Downes
New World Symphony

2024 Masterpiece Series

New World Symphony

Saturday, November 2, 2024 – 7 PM – BAPAC, Thousand Oaks
Sunday, November 3, 2024 – 3 PM
– RCPAC, Camarillo

American music stirs the soul in a way like none other. Performance Today® 2022 Classical Woman of the Year, pianist Lara Downes explores the depths of that profound connection to land, sea and spirit. Dvořák’s New World Symphony blends Bohemian fantasy with Midwestern and Southern melodies and charm.


Michael Christie, conductor
Lara Downes, piano

Adolphus Hailstork | 3 Spirituals for Orchestra – “Every Time I Feel the Spirit, Kum Bab Yah, Oh Freedom”

Florence Price | Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in One Movement

Joplin/Buck | Four Rags for Piano and Orchestra

Dvořák | Symphony No. 9, “From the New World”




Price Range  $30 – $120

Subscribe and Save!
Become a 2023/24 subscriber and enjoy the best seats while saving on single ticket prices.

Explore Subscription Options

Questions? Call us at
805.497.5880 / 866.776.8400

Program and artists are subject to change.

Lara Downes, piano
Michael Christie