Russian Troika

The final concert of the season features an all-Russian program that includes the return of the extraordinary violinist Philippe Quint playing Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s daunting Violin Concerto. The program, conducted by Mikhail Agrest, opens with lively and tuneful Polovtsian Dances from Alexander Borodin’s opera Prince Igor. The Symphony is joined by the Los Robles Master Chorale for the final work of the season: Sergei Prokofiev’s powerfully evocative score to Sergei Eisenstein’s dramatic movie Alexander Nevsky.

Mikhail Agrest, guest conductor
Philippe Quint, violin
Avery Amereau, contralto
Los Robles Master Chorale, Lesley Leighton, director

Borodin | Polovstian Dances
Tchaikovsky | Violin Concerto in D Major
ProkofievAlexander Nevsky

Program notes >>

Saturday May 4, 2018 | 7:30pm
Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza

Sunday May 5, 2018 | 3:00pm
Oxnard Performing Arts Center