Masterpiece Series

Marcelo Lehninger

The Broad Stage/Barnum Hall,
Santa Monica
OneThursday/Two Fridays ~ 7:30 pm

Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza
Six Saturdays ~ 8:00 pm

Oxnard Performing Arts Center
Five Sundays ~ 3:00 pm

One Friday ~ 8:00 pm

2018 Season

Grand Season Opening

JP Jofre

Friday, Oct 6, 2017, Santa Monica

Saturday, Oct 7, 2017, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Oct 8, 2017, Oxnard

Grant Cooper, conductor

Siudy Garrido, flamenco dancer

JP Jofre, bandoneon

Mozart Overture to Così fan tutte
FallaEl amor brujo
Piazzolla arr. JofreOblivion, Introducción al ángel, Muerte del ángel
JP JofreTangodromo III MVT
BeethovenSymphony No. 1 in C Major

Program Notes

Mauceri & Bernstein's 100th

Wyant Morton

Saturday, Nov 18, 2017, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Nov 19, 2017, Oxnard

John Mauceri, conductor

Celena Shafer, soprano

Suzanna Guzmán, mezzo-soprano

Casey Candebat, tenor

Davis Gaines, baritone

Gay Mens Chorus Los Angeles, Joe Nadeau, conductor

The Cal Lutheran University Choral Ensembles,

Wyant Morton, conductor

BernsteinSelections from On the Town, Trouble in Tahiti, Wonderful Town, Candide, West Side Story, Mass, and 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue

Program Notes

Celebrating Leonard Bernstein's Centennial in partnership with
the Valley Performing Arts Center

Tchaikovsky Pathétique

Lyris Quartet

Thursday, Jan 25, 2018, Santa Monica

Saturday, Jan 27, 2018, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Jan 28, 2018, Oxnard

Kynan Johns, conductor

Lyris Quartet,

RachmaninovSymphony in D Minor
Broughton World Premiere Commission
TchaikovskySymphony No. 6 in B Minor, Opus 74, Pathétique

Program Notes

Zukerman & Forsyth

Amanda Forsyth

Friday, Mar 9, 2018, Santa Monica

Saturday, Mar 10, 2018, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Mar 11, 2018, Oxnard

Pinchas Zukerman, conductor/violin

Amanda Forsyth, cello

VivaldiConcerto in B-flat Major for Violin and Cello
CouperinPièces en Concert for Cello & String Orchestra
HaydnDivertimento in D Major for Cello & String Orchestra
MozartRondo in C Major for Violin & Orchestra, K. 373
SchubertSymphony No. 5 in B-flat Major

Program Notes

Classical Vienna

Till Fellner

Friday, Apr 13, 2018, Oxnard

Saturday, Apr 14, 2018, Thousand Oaks

Andrew Grams, conductor

Till Fellner, piano

BeethovenOverture to The Creatures of Prometheus, Opus 43
MozartPiano Concerto No. 22 in E-flat Major, K. 482
BrahmsBrahms Symphony No. 3 in F Major, Opus 90

Program Notes

Virtuoso Tour de Force

Haochen Zhang

Saturday, May 12, 2018, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, May 13, 2018, Oxnard

Tania Miller, conductor

Haochen Zhang, piano

WagnerOverture to Tannhäuser
LisztPiano Concerto No. 1 in E-flat Major
DvorakSymphony No. 6 in D Major, Opus 60, B. 112

Program Notes

All dates, programs, guest artists subject to change.