2017 Season

Danzon

Mark Tanner

Friday, Sep 30, 2016, Oxnard

Saturday, Oct 1, 2016, Thousand Oaks

Tania Miller conductor*

Mark Tanner cello

MarquezDanzon No. 2**
Del AguilaConcierto en Tango**
CoplandSuite from Appalachian Spring
BizetCarmen Suite**

Program Notes

Rach 2

Vadym Kholodenko

Friday, Nov 4, 2016, Oxnard

Saturday, Nov 5, 2016, Thousand Oaks

Philip Mann conductor

Vadym Kholodenko piano*

RachmaninovConcerto No. 2 in C Minor for Piano & Orchestra, Opus 18
SchoenbergGo**
New West Symphony Commission (World Premiere)
StravinskySuite from The Firebird (1919)

Program Notes

A Lincoln Portrait

Tom Hallick

Friday, Jan 27, 2017, Oxnard

Saturday, Jan 28, 2017, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Jan 29, 2017, Santa Monica

Donato Cabrera conductor*

Smokey Robinson narrator* (Saturday/Sunday)

Tom Hallick narrator* (Friday)

AdamsThe Chairman Dances, "Foxtrot for Orchestra"**
CoplandA Lincoln Portrait
DvorakSymphony No. 7 in D Minor, Opus 70**

Program Notes

The Four Seasons

Anne Akiko Meyers

Friday, Feb 24, 2017, Oxnard

Saturday, Feb 25, 2017, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Feb 26, 2017, Santa Monica

Joshua Gersen conductor*

Anne Akiko Meyers violin

RavelLe tombeau de Couperin**
VivaldiThe Four Seasons
MozartSymphony No. 40 in G Minor, K. 550

Program Notes

Fantastique

Wyant Morton

Friday, Apr 7, 2017, Oxnard

Saturday, Apr 8, 2017, Thousand Oaks

Kynan Johns conductor*

So Young Park soprano*

The Cal Lutheran University Choral Ensembles

Wyant Morton conductor

PoulencGloria**
BerliozSymphonie fantastique

Program Notes

Emperor

Garrick Ohlsson

Thursday, May 11, 2017, Santa Monica

Friday, May 12, 2017, Oxnard

Saturday, May 13, 2017, Thousand Oaks

Fawzi Haimor conductor*

Garrick Ohlsson piano*

Rossini Overture to La scala di seta**
BeethovenConcerto No. 5 in E-flat Major for Piano & Orchestra, Opus 73, "Emperor"
HaydnSymphony No. 104 in D Major, Hob1: 104

Program Notes

*New West Symphony Debut Artist
**First New West Symphony Performance