2009 Season

bravo beethoven

Christofer O

Friday, Oct 10, 2008, Oxnard

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008, Santa Monica

Boris Brott, conductor

Corey Cerovsek, violin*

Beethoven Leonore Overture No. 3, Opus 72b<
Beethoven Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Opus 36
Beethoven Concerto in D Major for Violin &
  Orchestra, Opus 61

musical portrait

Lara St. John

Friday, Nov 7, 2008, Oxnard

Saturday, Nov 8, 2008 Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Nov 9, 2008, Santa Monica

Boris Brott, conductor

Ballet Soloists

Grieg Suite No. 1 from the Incidental Music
  to Ibsen's Peer Gynt, Opus 46
Beethoven Scenes from The Creatures of Prometheus, Opus 43
Mussorgsky/
Ravel
Pictures at an Exhibition

Sponsored by Micheline and Albert Sakharoff

Movie medley

Danielle Belen

Friday, Jan 23, 2009, Oxnard

Saturday, Jan 24, 2009, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Jan 25, 2009, Santa Monica

Boris Brott, conductor

Sean Chen, piano

Bernstein Symphonic Suite from On the Waterfront
Rachmaninov Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini
  for Piano and Orchestra, Opus 43
Herman Suite for Strings from Psycho
Rózsa Spellbound Concerto
Willams Adventures on Earth from E.T.

Sponsored by DCH Lexus of Oxnard, Santa Monica Daily Press and the Gilbert Foundation

string stravaganza

Philip Quint

Friday, Feb 27, 2009, Oxnard

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Mar 1, 2009, Santa Monica

Boris Brott, conductor

Sara Davis Buechner, piano*

Britten Simple Symphony for String Orchestra, Opus 4
MozartConcerto No. 14 for Piano and Orchestra in E-flat   Major, K. 449
Barber Adgio for Strings
Dvorák Serenade for Strings in E Major, Opus 22

Concert sponsored by Santa Barbara Bank & Trust and
   the Alliance for the Arts

hungarian rhapsody

Andrew Janss

Friday, Apr 24, 2009, Oxnard

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009, Thousand Oaks

Sunday,Apr. 26, 2009, Santa Monica

Boris Brott, conductor

Arnaldo Cohen, piano

Bartók Concerto for Orchestra
Kodály Dances of Galánta
Liszt Concerto No. 1 for Piano & Orchestra in E-flat Major,
  S. 124

Concert sponsored by the Ventura County Star, West County Voice, New West Symphony League and the Westside Affiliates

string sensation

New West Symphony Chorus & Las Robles Master Chorale, Lesley Leighton

Friday, May 15, 2009, Oxnard

Saturday, May 16, 2009, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, May 17, 2009, Santa Monica

Boris Brott, conductor

Paul Fried, flute

Charles Steteman, violin

Mark Tanner cello

Arensky Variations on a Theme by Tchaikovsky
  for String Orchestra, Opus 35a
Vivaldi Concerto in D Major for Flute, Strings and Continuo, 
  Opus 10, No. 3 (RV 428), "Il Gardellino"
J. S. Bach Concerto in A Minor No. 1 for Violin, Strings and   Continuo, BWV 1041
Tchaikovsky Pezzo Capriccioso for Cello and Orchestra, Opus 62
Tchaikovsky Serenade for Strings in C Major, Opus 48

Concert sponsored by the Musicians of the New West Symphony

*New West Symphony Debut Artists
All dates, programs, guest artists subject to change.